top of page

The first 24 hours of living abroad

Updated: Jan 10, 2020

07/09/18

"A year ago today was my first day in Granada. It was an overwhelming 30 degrees and so was the sudden realisation that this was my home for the next 4 months. I had my first delicious breakfast consisting of pan con tomate, cafe con leche and zumo de naranja in the beautiful Realejo district. Simply idyllic. Today I'm hanging out of my actual arse on a 2 hour Great Western rail service (a bumpy one) to Exeter St David's to see dad's side of the family. I'm fatter than I was 365 days ago but I reckon if I starve myself just the right amount and stay off the beers for the rest of time, I might get my 19 year old bod back."


The night before I flew to Granada, I was at a best friend's 21st party and I was drinking myself almost into oblivion to combat the nerves of my imminent relocation. With a heavy heart and an even heavier head from a rather brutal hangover, I had to bid farewell to friends who had stayed the night at mine and hop in the car to Gatwick with mum.


What lay ahead was hard to get my weary head around but I somehow made it to Granada in one piece with a huge suitcase in tow. I had to get my Erasmus certificate of arrival stamped by the University but didn't realise the hilly terrain of the city was not going to make this a simple task. In the blistering heat, I took a cab to the Facultad de Filosofía y Letras where I was to be enrolled as a language and literature student. The driver dropped me outside the building at the top of a huge staircase so I had to lug my embarrassingly large luggage down with me, wheels clunking loudly with every step. Little did I know that this first meeting with the international office was going to be one of many frustrating encounters with the nastiest administrative staff I would ever have the displeasure of dealing with.


A short woman with clipped-back, gelled wavy hair looked down her big nose at me. She told me I was late to matriculate and that all the courses were nearly full. I had to pick the earliest available appointment to choose my courses and I asked if my top choices had any spaces left. She replied moodily how could she predict which ones would have space by the time it got to my appointment. Sweating profusely, I just accepted her attitude and nodded to signify my exit. Another cab journey later I was on the doorstep of Calle Sor Cristina Mesa, waiting for my Airbnb host to let me into her flat, which we would be sharing with a Scottish lodger for the following few days while I hunted for somewhere to live for my 4 month stay. I sat on my suitcase waiting for Noelia to reply and suddenly felt scared, vulnerable and alone (and no, it wasn't just the hangover). She eventually let me in and tried to introduce me to the Scot but he didn't open his door. He managed to dodge meeting me until I checked out. Off to a good start.



1 piece of advice for people going on a year abroad...

The first day may feel completely disastrous, overwhelming and scary but that is exactly what your year abroad is about: throwing you out of your comfort zone and challenging your language skills and resilience. It's the best life experience you will ever get so try and look ahead to the adventures that lie ahead and enjoy every minute of it.


1 thing I wish I'd known about before I arrived...

Los Granadinos tienen mala follá - this stereotype means that Granada locals are always in a bad mood or treat you the way the woman at the international office treated me while I was a student at the university. It is important to point out that this is a stereotype and the people I met over my time in the city definitely did not match up. It was mostly people in administration or bar staff that had the shortest tempers, but I always met them with an unaffected smile and persisted until I got what I wanted.


1 area I wish I'd spent more time in...

El Realejo-San Matías. After leaving my airbnb to move into my permanent home, I was so preoccupied exploring my new neighbourhood I forgot about the little gem I'd arrived in on the first day. I did manage to grab that delicious breakfast in a café called I Need_ and would highly recommend it for its crunchy pan con tomate and refreshing zumo de naranja



The only vocab you need for breakfast in Granada...

Pan con tomate - literally bread with tomato but it's so much better than you expect, a must try

Café con leche - literally coffee with milk but usually cafés in Granada make you a mini cappuccino when you order it

Zumo de naranja - orange juice, pronounced "thoomo day naranha", served freshly squeezed


82 views0 comments
bottom of page